ESA State Conference

Pictured, left to right, are Laura Lascano-Bain, Past State President (2016-2017); Lean Polston, Treasurer; Fran Harris-Shaffer, Corresponding Secretary; Rhonda Rawlings, 2017-2028 State President; Kathleen Grissom, President-Elect; Jamie Atchison, Parliamentarian; Mary Carstens, Workshop Coordinator.

EFFINGHAM -- The Illinois State Council of Epsilon Sigma Alpha held its 69th Annual State Convention on June 9 at the Effingham Holiday Inn.

Keynote speakers were Carolyn Vasco, International Council corresponding secretary, and Linda Schmidt, Midwest Area Regional Conference (MARC) treasurer. Honored guest was Rosalee Echele, 2017 IC Convention chairwoman.

Laura Lascano-Bain, 2016 ISC president, introduced the elected 2017-18 state officers: Laura Lascano, 2017 State President, Alpha Gamma, Chicagoland; Leann Polston, Omega Nu, Mattoon, Treasurer; Fran Harris-Shaffer, Xi Chi, O'Fallon, Corresponding Secretary; Rhonda Rawlings, Delta Xi, Neoga, State President; Kathleen Grissom, Alpha Upsilon, Mattoon, Predident-Elect; Jamie Atchison, Alpha Alpha, Parliamentarian and Mary Stewart, Beta Eta, Fairfield, Workshop Coordinator.

Absent from the photo was Adrian Sperduto, Xi Chi, O'Fallon, Recording Secretary, who was in Germany through her school system. The Distinguished Achievement Award was presented to Rosie Weisst, Murphysboro, in absesenteeism, by Lurene Conner. The Outstanding Youth Award was presented to Kirstie Wattles, daughter of Scott and Sonia Wattles, Mattoon by Tricia Bayles, Chair.

ESA is one of the world's most distinctive leadership and service organizations.The International Philanthropic projects of ESA are St. Jude Children's Hospital and the Easter Seal Society. The Illinois State projects are Camp New Hope and Hope for Heroes. There are currently 14 community chapters and four collegiate chapters in Illinois.

For more information on ESA, contact President Rhonda Rawlings at


Load comments