CHARLESTON — It was a big night for the UMP B-Mods at the Charleston Speedway on Saturday night. Not only was it $1,000 to win the feature, a bounty was put on Benji Rine. An extra $200 was on the line for the driver who won the feature over Rine, who had won 12 of his 14 feature races this season at the track. Rob Lee looked like he might get the job done, jumping out to an early lead over Rine. The leaders got into lapped traffic, and Rine passed Lee for first. A flat tire eliminated Lee, and Rine went on to win his 13th feature of the year. Fellow driver Ryan Buckler put up an extra $100 each for the winner and for the seventh-place finisher. Lee, B.J. Deal, and Rine won the heat races. Rine’s 10th heat win tied the track record for wins in a year in the class.

The UMP Modified division had an exciting finish. Heat winners Kasey Schrock and Rodney Standerfer won their heats. Schrock jumped out front and led most of the race. After a caution with two laps left, Standerfer made the pass for the lead and won the feature.

In the UMP Hornet division, Joe Phelps got an early lead in the feature before being passed by Joey Smyser. Lynn Lash, who started 10th, came to the front and took the lead. Smyser got the lead back and won the race. Alan Mckay won the first heat. Phelps was declared the winner of the second heat after the original winner was disqualified for a post-race incident.

Aric Gentry made it two in a row in the Charleston Super Sprints, winning the feature. Gentry, Pat Giddens and Tony Lawrence won their respective heat races.

Lee Hall also went back to back, claiming his second straight UMP Factory Stock feature win. Hall and Jesse Simmons were the heat winners.

Jordan Smith got the sweep in the UMP Street Stocks with the fast time, a heat, and a feature win.

This Saturday will be the Lance Cobble Memorial Race. Cobble, a former track promoter and driver at the track, died while preparing the track for racing in 2008. The UMP Factory Stocks will run a special race in memory of Cobble, the Mopar Man. Cobble’s number 43 is on the wall of turn three at the speedway. UMP Modifieds, UMP B-Mods, UMP Street Stocks, UMP Hornets and Charleston Super Sprints will also run. Gates open at 3 p.m., qualifying begins at 5:30 p.m. and racing starts at 6 p.m.


Load comments