MHS Hall of Fame

Pictured, from left to right, are 2018 Mattoon High School inductees, front row, Keith Summers, Julie Moore-Wolfe, Monte Reel and Dr. Kris Koontz Gugliuzza. Back row is the Hall of Fame committee Larry Smith, Pat Brown, Teresa Lane and Mark Nelson.

MATTOON -- The Mattoon High School Hall of Fame Society recently inducted its Class of 2018 at Mattoon High School. Four MHS graduates were honored along with former Mattoon student Patricia Roberts Harris.

According to a press release, Dr. Kris Koontz Gugliuzza (’74), Julie Moore-Wolfe (’78), Monte Reel (’89), and Keith Summers (’73) make up the second class of the MHS Hall of Fame Society. Each of the inductees spoke to students about their experiences. After the ceremony, Larry Smith, Hall of Fame committee, asked the the inductees questions the students had provided before the ceremony. Students were encouraged to speak with the inductees following the ceremony.

The inductees were also the featured guests at a mixer at Mattoon Country Club this Thursday.

Keep reading for FREE!
Enjoy more articles by signing up or logging in. No credit card required.

Gugliuzza is a kidney transplant surgeon based in Texas. Moore-Wolfe is a former TV anchor who serves as the mayor of Decatur, Illinois. Reel is a former Washington Post reporter who just authored his third book. Roberts-Harris was the first African-American to serve on a presidential cabinet. Summers is the owner of the K.C. Summers car dealership who has spearheaded the revitalization of downtown Mattoon.

The 2018 class will join the 2017 inductees Dr. Anna Kane-Higham (’00), Dr. Teresa Lane (’74), Dave McKinney (’82), and Dr. John ZuHone (’98) in the new MHS Hall of Fame Society. Their pictures and bios will be displayed on a new video display inside Mattoon High School.

Be the first to know - Sign up for News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments