Try 1 month for 99¢
Awards presented to students in Cultivating Creativity exhibit

Pictured, from left to right, are honorees at the 2012-13 Cultivating Creativity Awards Reception. Front row: Jasper Jones, Madison Whitney, Chloe Alexander, Preston Latch, Lillian Nolen, Greta Larson, Emily Zhao, and Deece Schwartz. Middle row: Catherine Shick, Jadon Ater, Reed Kelly, Kelsey Chambers, Jordan Annis, Madelyn Pooley, Alexia Guajardo, Madelyn Kidd, and Isabel Magee. Back row: Kaitie Rogers, Nathan Sewell, John Higgs, Ethan Deadmond, Zoey Elson, Taylor Higgins, Lydia Druin, Erica Buntain, Hannah Bond, Aspen Bridges, Courtney Williamson, and Shelby Barker.

CHARLESTON — The students represented in the 2012-13 Cultivating Creativity: Consolidated Communications Children’s Art Exhibition were recognized for their achievement at an awards reception held March 10 at the Eastern Illinois University Tarble Arts Center.

Each student represented in the exhibition was awarded a $50 check, provided by Consolidated.

Doug Abolt of Consolidated presented the awards. Abolt also presented each of the participating art teachers with a $50 donation from Consolidated for each school involved in the exhibition in support of their school’s art programs.

Cultivating Creativity is sponsored by Consolidated and Tarble.

The exhibit is made up of art by 43 area elementary, junior/middle and senior high students.

The tour began at the Helen Matthes Library of Effingham in October and will travel to 14 locations throughout east Central Illinois.

The exhibit’s year-long tour will conclude in August with a showing at Eastern’s Booth Library.

The purpose of Cultivating Creativity is to showcase some of the outstanding art created by area students, to highlight the excellent work being done by area school art teachers, and to emphasize the importance of including the arts in a well-rounded school curriculum.

The students recognized included: Keli Adkisson, Tuscola Community High School; Chloe Alexander, Arthur Grade School; Jordan Annis, Williams Elementary School; Jadon Ater, Bond Primary School; Emily Bacino-Althaus, St. John’s Lutheran School; Shelby Barker, Mattoon High School; Sarah Berg, Gregory Intermediate School; Hannah Bond, Central A & M High School; Aspen Bridges, Windsor Elementary School;

Erica Buntain, St. Mary’s School; Kelsey Chambers, Crestwood Unit #4 School; Marco Chan, St. Anthony High School; Seth Crampton, Casey-Westfield High School; Ethan Deadmond, Altamont High School; Tiara Dorn, Effingham High School; Lydia Druin, Mattoon Middle School; Zoey Elson, Neoga High School; Alexia Guajardo, Arcola Elementary School; Taylor Higgins, Windsor Junior-Senior High School;

John Higgs, Altamont Junior High School; Correye Johnson, Lake Crest Elementary School; Jasper Jones, Carl Sandburg Elementary School; Kayle Karmazinas, Arcola High School; Reed Kelly, Riddle Elementary School; Madelyn Kidd, Neoga Middle School; Greta Larson, Mark Twain Elementary School; Preston Latch, Central Grade School; Mike Lewis, Okaw Valley Middle School; Isabel Magee, Oakland High School;

David Tyler Mosier, Sullivan High School; Lillian Nolen, Altamont Grade School; Madelyn Pooley, Jefferson Elementary School; Kaitie Rogers, St. Anthony Grade School; John J. Ross, Central A & M Middle School; Deece Schwartz, Ashmore Elementary School; Emily Scott, Okaw Valley High School; Nathan Sewell, Casey-Westfield Junior High School; Todd Shaffer, Charleston Middle School; Catherine Shick, Kansas School;

Natalie Staton, Charleston High School; Madison Whitney, Okaw Valley Elementary School; Courtney Williamson, Effingham Junior High School; and Emily Zhao, South Side School.

The exhibit is comprised of art works in a wide variety of media and styles.

Included are drawings in ink, colored pencil, crayon, and charcoal.

Papier-maché, textiles, photography, computer graphics and mixed media are also represented.


Load comments