BETHANY -- Okaw Valley High School recently recognized the Class of 2019 for its academic achievements and awarded several scholarships at their Senior Honors Night.

Bella Benning and Kailynn Bobbett received medals for earning the title of co-valedictorian, as did Madison Vogel for earning the title of salutatorian.

Bella Benning, Elizabeth Herbord, Kailynn Bobbett, Madison Vogel, Shelby Hagerman, and Sadie Zimmerman were honored as Illinois State Scholars.

Receiving Grade Point Average Honor Cords (3.5 and above) were: Bella Benning, Kailynn Bobbett, Madison Vogel, Sadie Zimmerman, Shelby Hagerman, Molly Phillips, Sophie Zimmerman, Anna Wooters, Sidney Zimmerman, Kailey George, Kierston Kennedy, Elizabeth Herbord, Case Crawford, Angela Robinson, Talon Russell, Sam Hagerman, Shelby Harding, Gavon Hargrove, Jessica Ellis, Brayden Primmer, Parker Perrine, Amber Hastings, and Danielle Hill.

Community Service Honor Cords (top 10 percent of class in Community Service Hours) were earned by: Sophie Zimmerman, Elizabeth Herbord, Shelby Hagerman, and Bella Benning.

American Red Cross Honor Cords were earned by: Bella Benning, Shelby Hagerman, and Anna Wooters.

The following are scholarships that were awarded at the Senior Honors Night program.

Lake Land College presented Presidential Scholarships to Kailynn Bobbett, Connor Powers, Sadie Zimmerman  and Elizabeth Herbord. Lake Land College also presented the Jason Ray Endowment to Beau Atchison, the TRW Endowment to Danielle Hill, the Leona Stanford Vollintine Scholarship Fund to Molly Phillips, and the Mildred M. Starwalt Memorial Endowment to Sophie Zimmerman.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Keep reading for FREE!
Enjoy more articles by signing up or logging in. No credit card required.

Other scholarships presented included the George A. Sentel Lodge 764 to Madison Vogel, the Wayne Shoemaker Memorial Scholarship to Bella Benning and Sophie Zimmerman, the American Red Cross Scholarship to Anna Wooters, the Clarence Bixler American Legion Post 409/Findlay Sons of the American Legion/Findlay Ladies’ Auxiliary Scholarship to Kailynn Bobbett and Molly Phillips, the Okaw Valley Education Association Scholarship to Molly Phillips and Sidney Zimmerman, the Bethany Sons of the American Legion Scholarship to Molly Phillips, the Stephen Baker Memorial Scholarship to Kailynn Bobbett, the Angela Marie Diss Memorial Scholarship to Kailey George, the Community Service Scholarship to Sophie Zimmerman, the Overlot Memorial Scholarship to Kailynn Bobbett, the Psi Iota Xi Scholarship to Riley Kesterson, the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers to Brody Bland, and the Findlay Firefighters Association to Kailynn Bobbett and Molly Phillips.

The Okaw Valley FFA Alumni gave scholarships to: Sadie Zimmerman, Sophie Zimmerman, Sidney Zimmerman, Kailynn Bobbett, Maci Mowry, Brody Bland, Garrett Tippitt, and Elizabeth Herbord.

Many seniors have received scholarships that were previously presented or yet to be determined.

The following students have signed to play for the following colleges: Millikin University baseball – Sam Hagerman; Illinois College track – Parker Perrine; Davenport University swimming – Anna Wooters; Elmhurst College golf – Case Crawford; Lake Land College cheerleading – Kailey George, Maci Mowry, and Angela Robinson

Other special recognition awards were presented during the evening. Kailey George and Sam Hagerman received the LOVC Student Athletes Award. Bella Benning received the DAR Award and Gavon Hargrove received the SAR Award. Recognition was given to the seniors that attended Heartland Academy: Clayton Tadlock (welding), Jessica Ellis (graphic arts), Sidney Zimmerman (graphic arts), Riley Kesterson (early childhood), Carson Bush (cosmetology), Anthony Weakly (welding), Danielle Hill (graphic arts), Quinton Gibbons (entrepreneurship), Amber Hastings (early childhood), Ayden Matheson (auto body), Colten Lash (culinary arts), and Kailey George (cosmetology).

In addition, three seniors earned their CNA Certificates through various programs. These students were: Shelby Harding, Molly Phillips, and Angela Robinson.

The following students were recognized for participating in the Job Shadow and Work Study Programs. Job Shadow: Bella Benning, Kailynn Bobbett, Shelby Harding, Danielle Hill, Maci Mowry, Anna Wooters. Work Study: Beau Atchison, Matthew Buxton, Case Crawford, Sam Hagerman, AJ McPheeters, Angela Robinson, Talon Russell, Garrett Tippet, and Hank Yowell

The following seniors received departmental awards for academic achievement in the classroom: Business Award: Madison Vogel; English Award: Shelby Hagerman; Fine Arts Award: Gavon Hargrove and Kaylee Taylor; Math Award: Shelby Hagerman; Music Department: Bella Benning, Kaylee Taylor, and Shelby Hagerman; Physical Education Award: Madison Vogel; Publications Award: Sidney Zimmerman; Science Award: Molly Phillips; Social Studies Award: Brayden Primmer; Spanish Award: Sophie Zimmerman


Subscribe to the JG-TC

Reporting like this is brought to you by a staff of experienced local journalists committed to telling the stories of your community.
Support from subscribers is vital to continue our mission.

Become a subscriber

Thank you for subscribing

Your contribution makes local journalism possible.

Load comments