MATTOON -- Two incumbents and one challenger have filed nominating petitions to run for two available six-year terms on the Lake Land College Board of Trustees in the April 2 election.

The candidates for these six-year terms are incumbents Dave Storm of Effingham and Meg Yargus Steward of Marshall, and challenger Kevin L. Curtis of Mattoon. In addition, newcomer Denise Walk of Teutopolis was the lone candidate to file a petition to run for one available four-year unexpired term on the board. The filing period concluded on Monday.

Register for more free articles.
Stay logged in to skip the surveys.

Trustees Storm and Bruce Owen of Dieterich currently hold the posts with six-year terms available. Owen did not file to run for re-election. The four-year unexpired term resulted from Yargus Steward being appointed in October 2017 to fill the vacancy created by Robert Luther’s resignation. Those elected on April 2 will begin their terms of office by April 30.

Any objections to the nominating petitions may be filed at the office of Jean Anne Grunloh, senior executive to Lake Land's president in the Board and Administration Center, 5001 Lake Land Boulevard. Objects will be accepted during the office hours of 8 a.m.-5 p.m. through Friday this week and on Jan. 2. For more information, call 217-234-5222.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Subscribe to the JG-TC

Reporting like this is brought to you by a staff of experienced local journalists committed to telling the stories of your community.
Support from subscribers is vital to continue our mission.

Become a subscriber

Thank you for subscribing

Your contribution makes local journalism possible.

Load comments