Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Mattoon tree, bike trail advisory groups established

Mattoon tree, bike trail advisory groups established


MATTOON — The city has revived its Tree Commission and established a new Bike Trail Committee to serve as advisory groups for the Mattoon City Council.

On Tuesday, the council appointed members to both of these groups that have been established as offshoots of the ongoing Mattoon in Motion community planning effort.

The Mattoon Tree Commission members are Diane Hall, T.J. Hess, Shonn Hild, Tony Nicholson, and Mike Sullivan. Hall is a former member of the previous Tree Commission. The Mattoon Bike Trail Committee members area Sarah Dowell, Sam Gaines, Jim Lang, Duncan MacGibbon, Chris Suerdieck, and Bob Zollmann.

Other council actions included:

— Hiring Bartels Construction of Mattoon for $149,588 for sidewalk improvements along Champaign Avenue.

— Hiring the Clark-Dietz engineering firm of Champaign for $97,650 to design ultra-violet disinfection facilities to treat water released from the wastewater treatment plant.

— Declaring a 2015 Ford Explorer and various office software equipment as surplus property.

— Re-appointing Ed Dowd and Dean Willaredt to the Planning Commission, and appointing Janet Snow and Matthew Burns to the Arts Council.

Contact Rob Stroud at (217) 238-6861. Follow him on Twitter: @TheRobStroud


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.


Rob Stroud is a reporter for the JG-TC, covering the city of Mattoon, Lake Land College, Cumberland County and areas including Oakland, Casey and Martinsville.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News