CHAMPAIGN -- Shayne Smith, a 5-6 guard for Tri-County, who is a senior at Shiloh, was the only JG-TC area player named to the 40th annual Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette Girls' Basketball team. 

Smith averaged a team-high 18.3 points and 5.3 steals per game to go with an average of 4.5 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game for the 26-5 Little Okaw Valley Conference Southeast Division champions. 

Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond's Hannah Wallen was one of 10 players selected to the second team. Wallen averaged 8.5 points, 3.7 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game for the 22-5 Little Okaw Valley Conference Tournament and LOVC Northwest Division champions.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Keep reading for FREE!
Enjoy more articles by signing up or logging in. No credit card required.

Three JG-TC players were on the 30-member special mention team in Arthur Okaw Christian's Amanda Franklin, A-L-A-H's Mycaela Miller and Tri-County's Kiersten Price-Wilson. 

Nine of the 65 players were from the JG-TC area on the honorable mention team. Receiving honorable mention were Arcola's Sophie Fishel and Morgan Hobgood: A-L-A-H's Payton Wellbaum: Arthur Okaw Christian's Alexa Franklin, Jessica Franklin and Lily Messmore: Sullivan's Tatum Ellis and Esther Miller along with Tri-County's Harley Barry. 

Danville Schlarman's Anaya Peoples was the Player of the Year, while Monticello coach Dave Berry was the sixth annual Coach of the Year.


Sports writer

Mike Monahan covers area sports for the JG-TC.

Load comments