Eastern Illinois top five Female Newcomers of the Year

Eastern Illinois top five Female Newcomers of the Year

  • 0

CHARLESTON -- During the spring semester Eastern Illinois Athletics announces its candidates for its yearly awards at the Senior Reception in April. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic that ceremony was unable to take place and no year-end awards were presented for the 2019-20 academic year.

In place here are some of the top performances of the Female Newcomers of the Year.

Lariah Washington (basketball) – Lariah was named the Ohio Valley Conference Freshman of the Year becoming the fourth EIU player to ever win the award. She scored a season high of 35 points reaching double figures in 19 games and averaging 11.2 points per game. She was also named a first team All-OVC selection.

Ashley Glesing (swimming) – Ashley had a great debut season as she landed on EIU career top ten list in five different events. She posted the third best times in school history in the 100 breaststroke and 100 intermediate medley while ranking seventh all-time in the 200 breaststroke. She added top five career finishes in two relay events.

Danielle Frank (track) – Danielle immediately placed her name in the record book for the fastest runners in EIU women's track history. She set the school record in the indoor 200 meter dash while ranking 8th all-time in the 60m dash. She placed third in the 200 meter dash at the OVC Indoor Championships.

Elizaveta Bukraba-Ullanova (tennis) – Elizaveta was one of the top newcomers on the women's tennis amongst a host of newcomers. She was second on the team with six singles wins while playing at No. 1 doubles during the shortened spring season.

Ireland Hieb (volleyball) – Hieb was one of the top attackers on the Panthers team prior to missing a late portion of the season due to injury. Still she led the team in kills per set and was third on the team in attack percentage. She had a season high 17 kills during the year.

In addition EIU had several other top performances by female newcomers during the year including: Sarah Carr (cross country/track), Nicolleta Anuca (soccer), Morgan Litwiller (basketball), Mia Fires (swimming), Zakiya Johnson (track) and Taylor Florea (softball).


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News