148 EIU athletes named to OVC honor roll

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. – A record 1,382 student-athletes have been named to the Ohio Valley Conference’s Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the 2018-19 academic year, the league announced Tuesday.

That mark surpasses the 1,349 honorees set a year ago. Of those honorees, 148 are from Eastern Illinois.

To be listed, recipients must have achieved at least a 3.25 grade point average, have been eligible and on the team throughout the competitive season in their chosen NCAA-sponsored sport(s) and used a season of competition.

Those numbers included 40 student-athletes who compete in non-OVC championship sports that do not compete in another conference (i.e. Southeast Missouri gymnastics, UT Martin equestrian, Eastern Kentucky and UT Martin beach volleyball) and 145 student-athletes who were recipients in multiple sports (and counted just once in the final total).

Southeast Missouri had the most selections to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll (153) while women’s track and field was the sport with the most honorees league-wide (187).

Over the past 10 years the OVC has honored over 12,000 student-athletes with the Commissioner’s Honor Roll award.

30 EIU athletes earn OVC Academic Medal of Honor

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. — A record 268 OVC student-athletes have earned the OVC Academic Medal of Honor for the 2018-19 academic year, the conference announced Monday, with 30 of them from EIU.
Lakeview College of Nursing awards degrees
Register for more free articles.
Stay logged in to skip the surveys.
Eastern Illinois not slamming the door shut on possibility of two-QB offense

EIU recipients were Will Klein (baseball);Jordyn Hughes, Grace Lennox, Jalisha Smith, Taylor Steele and Abby Wahl (women's basketball); Jaime Marcos (men's cross country); Joe Caputo and Cole Hoover (football); Kate Olson (women's soccer); Megan Burton, Shelby Martell, Haley Mitchell (softball); Gage Kingsmith, Luka Knieling and Freddie O'Brien (men's tennis); Srishti Slaria (women's tennis); Marcos and Chris Orlow (men's track and field); Morgan Atchison, Kristen Dowell, Kaitlyn Ebert, Amani Jackson-Gladney, Sophia Keith, Marie Koch, Louise Rieger and Jasmine Woodley (women's track and field); Abby Knight, Morgan Matusik and Taylor Smith (volleyball).

The OVC Academic Medal of Honor is given annually to the student-athletes who achieve the highest grade point average in a Conference-sponsored sport. Every Academic Medal of Honor recipient for the 2018-19 academic year carried a perfect 4.0 grade point average. Of the 268 award winners, 27 were awarded Academic Medals of Honor for multiple sports (and counted just once in the final recipients list).

Southeast Missouri had the most selections with 37, followed by Eastern Kentucky (31) and Austin Peay (31) and Eastern Illinois (29). The sport of women's track and field had the most honorees league-wide (52), followed by women's soccer (38) and softball (38).

The 268 recipients are the most in a single academic year in the history of the award, smashing the previous record of 248 honorees in 2015-16. Over the past five years there have been 1,178 student-athletes earn the OVC Academic Medal of Honor.

The OVC will announce the recipients of the Commissioner's Honor Roll, the Academic Achievement Award and the Team Academic Achievement Awards later this week.

Want to see more local sports coverage like this?

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports writer

Mike Monahan covers area sports for the JG-TC.

Load comments