Hollins adds third All-American honor

CLEVELAND — Eastern Illinois senior wide receiver Alexander Hollins earned his third All-American honor this year as he was named a first-team selection by Phil Steele.com in the final All-American team release of the year.

Hollins was an electric playmaker for the Panthers offense this past season as he ranked second in the FCS in touchdown receptions with 16. He had two games with three touchdown catches including the EIU season opener at SEC member Arkansas. Hollins was one of three players to finish in the top 15 nationally in touchdown receptions, receptions and receiving yards. He finished the year with 80 catches for 1,102 yards.

Hollins was a candidate for the Walter Payton Award, finishing 21st in the voting. He becomes the first EIU player to earn All-American honors since Dino Fanti was a first-team selection in 2015. He is the 17th EIU wide receiver to earn All-American honors in program history.

Hollins was named a second-team All-American and third-team selection by Hero Sports in December.

Caputo Named To FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Register for more free articles.
Stay logged in to skip the surveys.

WESTLAKE, Ohio — Eastern Illinois junior linebacker Joe Caputo was one of 47 student-athletes to be named to the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) 21st Annual Academic All-Star Team.

Caputo started all 11 games at linebacker this season for the Panthers, ending the year as the team’s top tackler with 86. He finished with 45 solo tackles while registering 7.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks. Additionally, Caputo had three pass break-ups, two fumble recoveries and one forced fumble. In the classroom, Caputo excelled with a 3.86 grade-point average, majoring in both accounting and finance.

These 47 individuals were selected from a pool of nearly 100 applicants. Leading the way was the Patriot League, which placed eight student-athletes on the 2018 Academic All-Star Team. Three student-athletes from the Ohio Valley Conference were selected.

"One of the most important responsibilities that the FCS ADA has is the selection of the Annual Academic All-Star Team," stated current FCS ADA President Bill Smith, director of athletics at Bryant University. "This group of young men are some of the best and brightest football players and scholars in the country. They have been leaders on their individual campuses and have excelled in the classroom, their communities and on the gridiron. They truly exemplify FCS football and now we have the honor of naming them to the 2018 Academic All-Star Team."

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade-point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent (50%) of the games played at their designated position.


Want to see more local sports coverage like this?

Our Sports Newsletter email is for you! Delivered twice weekly, it is full of local sports content just like this article!

Sign up now:   

I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments