Subscribe for 33¢ / day

IRVING, Texas  (EIU)– The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced this week the members of the 2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. 

This year Eastern Illinois placed six student-athletes on the list, the highest number of football players recognized in the Ohio Valley Conference.  An all-time high 1,251 players from a record-tying 302 schools qualified for membership in the society’s 12th year.

Eastern Illinois six honored student-athletes this year included Austin Askin (3.54, Biological Sciences), Addison Bounds (3.38, Business/Marketing), Bradley Dewberry (3.61, Kinesiology & Sports Studies), Cody Edwards (3.56, Biological Sciences), A.J. Hantak (3.75, Business/Marketing) and Ryan Ramirez (3.57, Technology).  During the fall Edwards was a semifinalist for the Walter Campbell Award which is presented to the top football student-athlete in the nation.  Bounds and Hantak were both enrolled in the Sports Marketing Graduate program at EIU during their final seasons while Ramirez was a fifth-year graduate transfer form Southeastern Louisiana. 

Nominated by their respective schools, members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must have met the following criteria.

1.) Completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2017. 2.) Achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout their entire course of undergraduate study. 3.) Met all NCAA- or NAIA – mandated progress toward degree requirements. 4.) Be at starter or significant contributor for the 2017 season.

Among OVC schools Eastern Illinois had a conference high six players recognized to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society. 


Sports writer

Mike Monahan covers area sports for the JG-TC.

Load comments