You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Mattoon's Mallory Ramage named second team on News-Gazette All-State team

Mattoon's Mallory Ramage named second team on News-Gazette All-State team

Ramage_Mallory 2 01.20.20.JPG

Mattoon's Mallory Ramage (25) was named to the Champaign News-Gazette All-State second team.

CHAMPAIGN — Mattoon's Mallory Ramage keeps raking in the awards.

In addition to being named the JG-TC and Decatur Herald & Review Player of the Year, Ramage — a 5-9 sophomore guard — was named one of 15 players to the second team Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette All-State team. 

Ramage helped Mattoon go 27-6 overall and 12-0 in the Apollo Conference as well as win a Class 3A regional championship

She led the Green Wave in scoring at 21.5 points per game, went over the 1,000-point mark and averaged 4.4 rebounds, 3.5 steals and 2.5 assists per contest.

Named to the special mention 50 was Tri-County’s Tayler Barry, a 5-5 junior guard, who helped the Lady Titans to a third place finish in Class 1A. She led the team in scoring and in steals with 18.4 and 4.3 respectively.

Among the 100 honorable mention players was Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg’s Mikala Nichols, a 6-0 junior forward/center.

In the 43rd year of the awards, Maine West’s Angela Duggalic was the player of the year.

Decatur Herald & Review awards

DECATUR — In addition to Ramage making the H&R's first team, Charleston’s Shae Littleford and Sullivan’s Emily White were on the five-member first team.

Sullivan’s Avery Still was on the five member second team and Arthur Christian’s Alexa Franklin was on the five-member third team.

Among the 50 honorable mention players were Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond’s Makenzie Bowles, Mattoon’s Delainey Bryant, Okaw Valley’s Mia Harris and Kate Jeffers, WSS’s Hannah Hayes and Mikala Nichols, Arcola’s KayLee Hohlbauch, Cumberland’s Zoe Mitchell, Casey-Westfield’s Audrey Hosselton and Eva Richardson, Neoga’s Olivia Titus and Kelsi Partlow, Shelbyville’s Mia and Trinity Wade, and Sullivan’s Lilly Null.

In the H&R's wrestling awards, Shelbyville’s Calvin Miller, a freshman in the 106-pound weight class, was on the 14-member team. Miller was 38-10 and made the Class 1A state wrestling tournament.

Charleston’s Brayden Doyle, a senior, made it in the 195-pound weight class. He won the Class 2A regional championship.

Warrensburg-Latham’s Adam Maxwell was the wrestler of the year.

In the H&R's boys basketball all-area awards, Casey-Westfield’s Noah Livingston was on the five-member second team. Livingston, a 6-1 junior guard, led the 24-8 Warriors in scoring, assists and steals at 16.3, 3.2 and 1.5 respectively.

Okaw Valley’s Cameron Sharp was one of five members on the third team. Sharp helped the Timberwolves go 22-9 by averaging a team-high 18.7 points per game.

No JG-TC player was on the five-member first team.

Central A&M’s Connor Heaton was the player of the year, while Lincoln’s Neil Alexander was the coach of the year.

There were plenty of JG-TC area players on the 50-member honorable mention team. They were: Trevor Roy and Paci McClure of Neoga, Brennyn Cutts and Ross Hemmen of Cumberland, Arcola’s Hugo Garza, Mattoon’s Sam Bradbury and Cam’Ron Thomas, Charleston’s Cade Landrus, Caleb Hurst, and Isaac Miller, Shelbyville’s Kade Kull, Okaw Valley’s Eli Hagerman, Casey’s Jackson Hills, WSS’s Gavin Wernsing, Sullivan’s Ian Plank, and Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond’s Austin Plank, Jamison Rocke and Kaden Feagin.

PHOTOS: Mattoon's Mallory Ramage

Contact Mike Monahan at (217)-238-6854. Follow him on Twitter: @monahanmikejgtc


Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News